South Carolina Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP) is a
statewide education and treatment program designed for:
who are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI); and
whose licenses are suspended through the state's Administrative License
Revocation (ALR) procedure. Drivers are subject to ALR if they
are charged under the provisions known as "zero tolerance"
(which is in addition to a charge of DUI for drivers of any age who
operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration [BAC] of .15 percent
or greater). An individual also is subject to ALR if he refuses
to take a blood, breath or urine test for the presence of alcohol or
Because thousands of South Carolinians are killed or injured in alcohol-
or other drug-related traffic crashes each year, ADSAP works with
offenders in an attempt to reduce the number of such crashes that result
in death, injury or property damage. ADSAP services are certified by
the South Carolina
Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services and are available
in each of the state's 46 counties.
Alcohol and Drug Commission
program involves 3 steps:
is held only on Tuesday mornings at 8:45 a.m. and will last until noon.
a current copy of your ten (10) year driving record from DMV.
a copy of the conviction ticket, along with 10yr. driving record,
if the DUI does not show on the driving record. (Must have proof of
$500.00 - Education program fee (cash, check, MC, Visa or
will receive an initial evaluation. Based on the results, you will
either be referred to the education group or scheduled to meet with a counselor
for a full assessment.
The following questions and answers provide some basic information about
Individuals Convicted of
Do I have to enroll in ADSAP if I am convicted of driving under the
Yes, if you wish to have your driver's license reinstated. South
Carolina law requires a person whose license has been suspended as the
result of a DUI conviction to successfully complete an ADSAP before he can
apply to the South Carolina Department of Public Safety (SCDPS) for
reinstatement of his driver's license.
Where do I enroll in ADSAP?
You must contact a county alcohol and drug abuse authority and tell the
ADSAP representative that you need to enroll in the program. County
alcohol and drug abuse authorities are listed in the telephone directory.
There are no county line barriers to ADSAP enrollment. You may
enroll in any South Carolina County, regardless of where you live.
When should I contact ADSAP?
Immediately. It is important for you to contact an ADSAP
representative immediately after your conviction because it could take you
as long as twelve months to successfully complete the program.
What happens if I don't enroll in ADSAP?
The SCDPS will not consider reinstating your driver's license until it
receives notification of your successful completion of ADSAP.
What is involved in ADSAP?
Upon your enrollment in the program, you will be assessed to determine the
problem areas that most likely contributed to your DUI. Goals then
will be developed to address these areas. Education and/or treatment
services will be provided to help you achieve your goal(s) and reduce your
risk of committing another DUI. Successful completion of the program
is based on whether you have reduced your risk of committing another DUI.
How long will it take me to complete ADSAP?
Because you will receive services based on individual needs, the time
period for ADSAP varies for each participant. Individuals usually
complete services by the end of their suspension period.
Is there a cost for ADSAP?
Yes. The cost for educational services provided through ADSAP is
$500, while the cost for any treatment services required by the program
can cost up to $2000. The total cost of all services - educational
and treatment - cannot exceed $2,500.
May I drive while I am participating in ADSAP?
First-time DUI offenders who meet certain requirements may obtain a
provisional driver's license from the SCDPS and may drive for a period not
to exceed six months from the date of the issue of the provisional
license, provided they also continue to successfully participate in ADSAP.
However, first-time offenders who do not obtain a provisional driver's
license and subsequent DUI offenders (who are not eligible for a
provisional driver's license) may not drive during their suspension
What are the requirements for a provisional driver's license?
There are several requirements:
cheap nfl helmets get dartg,cheap nfl decals ukulele,Women's Miami Dolphins Gray French Terry Lightweight Full Zip Jacket,Women's Dallas Cowboys Navy Blue Primetime Track Jacket Green Bay Packers Jerseys Wholesale.Men's Pittsburgh Steelers Klew Black Sport Suit,Houston Texans Chrome Can Tumbler Cheap Green Bay Packers Jerseys.Men's Philadelphia Eagles Klew Midnight Green Gradient Shorts,'47 Brand Chicago Bears Cleanup Adjustable Hat - Orange,Cincinnati Bengals WinCraft Premium Metal Key Ring Green Bay Packers Jerseys Sale.Women's Cincinnati Bengals Touch by Alyssa Milano White Hadley T-Shirt,Seattle Seahawks Hello Kitty Backpack.Nike Jacksonville Jaguars Women's Helmet Tri-Blend Tank Top - Gray/Black,Men's Minnesota Vikings Trae Waynes Nike Purple 2015 Game Jersey Green Bay Packers Fans Jerseys Sale.Girls Youth Washington Redskins DeSean Jackson Pink Bubble Gum Jersey,Mens Houston Texans กฏ47 Brand Navy Basic Logo Cuffless Beanie,Youth Denver Broncos Chris Harris Jr Orange Mainliner Name & Number T-Shirt.cheap nfl hats 3d,cheap nfl accessorize monsoon,cheap nfl earrings vogue,'47 Brand Baltimore Ravens Women's Vintage Debut Slim Fit V-Neck T-Shirt - White,Women's Cleveland Browns Cream Hail Mary 3/4 Sleeve T-Shirt.Youth Kansas City Chiefs Black Evasive Quarter-Zip Jacket,Men's Seattle Seahawks Majestic Neon Green Critical Victory II T-Shirt,Mens Buffalo Bills Majestic Royal Blue End Zone Marled Long Sleeve T-Shirt
must enroll in ADSAP and make satisfactory progress.
must have had a valid South Carolina driver's license at the time of
DUI conviction must be the first within a 10-year period.
driver's license must not be suspended for any other reason.
must provide proof of financial responsibility to the SCDPS (usually
must pay a $5 fee to the SCDPS.
What should I do if I move out of state after being convicted of DUI in
You must contact a South Carolina ADSAP representative before moving out
of state. If you want your driver's license reinstated in South
Carolina or if you want to receive a driver's license from another state,
you must participate in the services recommended by you assessment.
You may complete the services in another state, but you first must contact
ADSAP Office (843)821-5412). A provisional driver's license is no
longer valid when you move out of state.
How can ADSAP help me if I am convicted of DUI in South Carolina but have
an out-of-state driver's license?
Many states will require you to complete South Carolina's DUI program
prior to being relicensed. Therefore, you must contact the driver
licensing authority in your home state to find out their
requirements. In addition, you must complete ADSAP if you plan to
obtain a South Carolina driver's license in the future. If you no
longer live in South Carolina, you may contact the Interstate ADSAP Office
May I obtain a provisional driver's license if I have an out-of-state
As an out-of-state licensed driver, you may be eligible for a South
Carolina provisional permit if you enroll in ADSAP, meet the provisional
driver's license requirements and maintain a valid out-of-state license.
Whose Licenses Are Suspended Under ALR
What are the requirements for enrollment in ADSAP following Administrative
License Revocation (ALR)?
There are several requirements:
you wish to have your license reinstated when the suspension period
ends, you must enroll in ADSAP. If you fail to successfully
complete ADSAP following the end of your suspension period, your license
may be revoked until you have completed the program.
you plan to contest the ALR, you will have 10 days from the notice of
suspension to enroll in ADSAP and request an administrative
hearing. If you do not enroll in ADSAP within 10 days, the
suspension remains in effect and an administrative hearing cannot be
SCDPS will hold an administrative hearing after receiving the hearing
the suspension is upheld, you must remain in ADSAP to regain your
the suspension is overturned, your license will be reinstated and any
fees paid to ADSAP will be refunded to you.
What should I do if I have a question or complaint about ADSAP?
If you are unable to resolve the matter to your satisfaction by contacting
your county authority ADSAP office, call the state ADSAP at (803)